Foreign nationals purchasing property in Turkey

This article will provide readers with information about who can buy property in Turkey, and by ‘who can buy’ we mean which countries have little or no restrictions on Turkish real estate, as well as informing of those few who are still completely restricted.


In pre-2012 Turkey there were strict reciprocity laws, which ruled that a foreign national could not buy property in Turkey unless a Turkish national would be allowed to buy property in their respective country.

In 2012, changes were made to the law that meant that many restrictions were lifted and the property market was opened up to many parts of the world. The reciprocity law was removed but there are still some restrictions in place for some countries.


The countries listed below are those that are allowed to purchase property in Turkey without gaining permission first:


Argentina, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Canada, Chad, Colombia, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Holland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan,
Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait,
 Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mali, Moldova, Monaco, Namibia, Niger, Northern Cyprus, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Peru, Romania, Republic of Cote D’Ivoire, Saudi Arabia,
Spain, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Serbia, Slovakia, The United Arab Emirates, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, USA, Uzbekistan.


Although these countries are the least restricted countries, there are still some rules for foreign buyers, which should be noted prior to buying.


1. The foreign buyer must be a citizen of a country in which the authorities have determined to be eligible to purchase property in Turkey.

2. The foreign buyer cannot purchase more than 30 hectares across the country.

3. The foreign buyer cannot purchase more than 10% of the land in one district.

4. The Turkish authorities have the right to limit or forbid the purchase of property by a foreign buyer if required by national interests. The decision may be based on region of the property, the number of purchases of the buyer, the size of plot, type of property, criterion of country, the individual person, their duration in Turkey.

5. A permit is required in order to purchase a property that lies within military forbidden zones, military security zones or strategic zones.
Amendments to the rules in October 2013 mean that some areas may not require a permit if the property has already been granted a permit to a foreign buyer.


These are general rules so it is worth checking out the requirements of the local authority in the area in which you wish to purchase property.

The countries that are not entitled to purchase property in Turkey are Armenia, Cuba, Nigeria, North Korea, Syria, and Yemen.

Besides these countries who are entitled and not entitled, there are some countries who have various restrictions on purchasing property. This is a guide only, whichever country you are a national of, it is advised that you take a look at the requirements for your country from official government information before beginning the process of purchasing property in Turkey.